Awareness: The Power of Place


The qualities within a place that is special to us are deeply personal and often help us define who we are.  Either a lake house setting, a mountain lodge, a seashore cottage or a backyard at twilight, our sensory connections to these special places shape us in extensive and lasting ways.  The strongest memories of childhood are our experiences of our hometowns and spots where we ran free during summer vacations.

This connection to place is one that we carry within ourselves for a lifetime.  Nobel Prize-winning author William Faulkner noted that his own “little postage stamp of native soil” was an inexhaustible source of material.    Fellow Mississippian and Pulitzer Prize winner Eudora Welty wrote, “Place absorbs our earliest notice and attention, it bestows on us our original awareness; and our critical powers spring up from the study of it and the growth of experience inside it.  It is to th is place that each of us goes to find the clearest, deepest identity of ourselves.”

Psychologist Carl Jung lived nearly half his life in a home he built-in the village of Bolligen, on Switzerland’s Lake Zurich.  In his memoir, Memories, Dreams, Reflections, Jung remarked, “At Bolligen, I am in the midst of my true life, I am most deeply myself.  At times I feel as if I am spread out over the landscape and inside things, and am myself living in every tree, in the splashing of the waves, in the clouds and the animals that come and go, in the procession of the seasons.  In Bolligen, silence surrounds me almost audibly, and I live in modest harmony with nature.”

Iona Dreaming: The Healing Power of Place, is Claire Cooper Marcus’ journal of her six months on the Scottish island of Iona.  The author writes, ” I feel pure in this place.  It is as if there was no separation between my living, breathing, perceiving body and my soul-nature.  No posturing, no pretending.  I am who I am-no more, no less.  As my breathing slows and I relax, I experience the sound of the sea passing through me–not me hearing the sea, not me and the sea–just the sound.  A breeze blows across my face; the sun shines on my cheeks and forehead.  For a moment, they seem to penetrate my body.  Then, they just are.  My body ceases to exist.  No Claire or ego or a specific person, but a manifestation of divine energy just like everything around me…our separateness just an illusion.”

These kinds of intimate experiences occur most often when we are in a relaxed or meditative state, or spending full-bodied, multisensory, open-hearted time in nature.  Such moments inspire the experience described by American Poet Robinson Jeffers in which we “fall in love outward.”

This article today provided by Linda Sechrist- a senior staff writer for Natural Awakenings magazines.

Where is your Power of Place?

9 thoughts on “Awareness: The Power of Place

  1. I’ve been thinking a lot about this lately. “Place” is prominent in my books. One novel that’s out is set in Houston, where I lived for 30 years, and it reflects on a sense of isolation that we can feel, even in the city.

    Another WIP is set in Illinois among the farmland, where I grew up and learned to fall in love with nature. Place is prominent in the story, which is set in 1970 and speaks a lot about the societal change of the time.

    Another, newly hatching novel is set on the Olympic Peninsula, where I now live, and reflects the new chapter of my life as I now live in a more rural area…it brings out my peaceful side.

    In other words, I am using place in my books as a way of reflecting on these different chapters of my life.

    Like

  2. Ah I find most often anywhere there are beaches and moonlit sky and solitude.. My favourite is probably Tofino, BC

    Like

  3. I am just 2 or 3 miles from Miami Beach and have not been there for years. I remember how refreshing it can be and just two hours gives such a spiritual vacation from it all that is rejuvenating.

    Like

Peace, love, bliss kind reader

