A Truck Full of Blessings


Friday, 10:00 a.m.  The boys (dogs) and I are a taking our usual drive to get some coffee down Orange Ave.  We approach the 10th street traffic light where I notice a few gentlemen unload some boxes, filled with something, but was not close enough to see what was inside.  I ventured on to get the coffee and came back down Orange Ave., stopping at 10th street.  I drove over to the gentlemen as they were just about to leave.  I saw a few boxes on the sidewalk that contained ears of corn.  I said: “Is that free, are you giving that away?”  One of the men said “come here and I’ll give you some.”

When I got closer to the truck, I noticed that there was also boxes of green beans.  Now, I can’t tell you how many boxes there were, but it seemed to me like 100.

The man went to give me a box of the corn when I said: “could I please have the green beans instead?”  He said: “you don’t want no corn?”  I’d rather have the green beans.  He said okay and then asked if I would like some green peppers.  Who can say no to green peppers, unless you don’t like them.  I didn’t know what to expect, I was grateful for anything they were willing to bless me with.

I ended up with a bag full, you know the kind of bag they use for oranges.

I asked them, do you gentlemen grow these vegetables?  They said: “no, someone blessed us with them and now we want to bless others.  I don’t think I could have smiled any bigger.

As I walked to my truck, I said:  “God bless you and have a great day!”

When I got the box of fresh green beans home, I immediately washed them all in vinegar and water and started giving them away.  Neighbors, family, anyone who wanted them.

This was one of the best Fridays I have ever had.

It is these moments when you sometimes forget how blessed you really are everyday.  It’s those extra special blessings that you remember because you never know when they will happen.

Peace, love, bliss kind reader

