Hold All Road Trips, Intake Manifold Has Cracked Up


The time: 10:15 a.m.-the desire: COFFEE-the place: the drive-thru.  Have to get coffee, dt’s are starting.  It’s a habit that I’ve quit, started, quit, it’s a never-ending cycle.  I’m sure most of you can relate.  I prove it by not being a drug addict or alcoholic.

There are many others who have the same thing on their mind: COFFEE!

Was just about to move forward to place my order when I happen to see the temperature gauge quickly rising to the H side, this means DANGER, get moving now!  Yes, she is overheating.  No coffee today.

The distance to my house was not far, but seemed like hours due to the anxiety that had now taken over my body.  Thankfully, the universe opened up and every traffic light was green (which never happens).

A sigh of relief came over me when I reached my street and got to the gate and seemed like I could not open it quick enough for fear of ruining my car.  I pulled in, shut the gate, parked and got out breathing in that smell we all probably have experienced-burning radiator!  I opened the hood and let the cooling period take place.

About 2:00 in the afternoon now and I think it’s safe to open the radiator cap and see what’s inside……surprise, surprise…..not a drop of water.   She had not one more drop of fluid to spare.

ATTENTION:  ALL TRAVEL ACTIVITIES ARE CANCELLED FOR TODAY, PLEASE STAY IN YOUR HOME UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE!

So, I have to admit that I was a little aggravated at first, but once I took a deep breath, I realized that maybe this was a sign for me to slow down and get things done at home.  Gardening, wash, spring cleaning( I know it’s not spring, but I am not worried).

Still had to go to work which meant asking for a ride (not too easy for me).  Luckily one of my best friends was available ( my mom).  I have two of the greatest parents and friends in the world.

I called her up and she made a call to the place where we have taken our vehicles for years: Hickman’s Brake and Alignment (but they do more than that).  They are a family business and the most honest in our area.

She called me back and told me to fill up the radiator with water and if it leaks out fast-that’s bad, but if not- then we have to take it there.  BEGIN WATER INPUT!!!!  It was leaking, but slow drips-NEXT STOP-HICKMAN”S!

Made it there and now the wait!

It was about a day and a half before they called and said the intake manifold is cracked.  Awesome-more money needed to be spent.  The good thing was that the engine block was not harmed!  HOORAY!

So, a couple more days of getting rides.  I can do it!

About five days later, I had my baby back!  I love my car and hope that we will be together for awhile longer.

Grateful for the things I have and what I don’t.

2 thoughts on “Hold All Road Trips, Intake Manifold Has Cracked Up

Peace, love, bliss kind reader

